New Zealand Architects Declare Climate & Biodiversity Emergency

The following open letter is inspired by our UK colleagues, gently adapted for the environment here in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The twin crises of climate breakdown and biodiversity loss are the most serious issue of our time. Buildings and construction play a major part, accounting for nearly 40% of energy-related carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions whilst also having a significant impact on our natural habitats.

For everyone working in the construction industry, meeting the needs of our society without breaching the earth’s ecological boundaries will demand a paradigm shift in our behaviour. Together with our clients, we will need to commission and design buildings, cities and infrastructures as indivisible components of a larger, constantly regenerating and self-sustaining system.

The research and technology exist for us to begin that transformation now, but what has been lacking is collective will. Recognising this, we are committing to strengthen our working practices to create architecture and urbanism that has a more positive impact on the world around us.

We will seek to:

Founding signatories:

Andrew Patterson, Architype, Assembly Architects, Ben Hudson Architects, Black Pine Architects, Context Architects, Drawing Room, Gordon Moller, Graeme North EcoDesign, Herbst Architects, Jack Manning, Jasmax, Jeremy Salmond, Jessop Architects, Judi Keith-Brown Architects, Marshall Cook, Pacific Environments, Patrick Clifford, Pete Bossley, Pip Cheshire, Rafe Maclean Architects, Roger Walker, RTA Studio, Stuart Gardyne, Team Green Architects, Tennent Brown Architects, VIA Architecture

Supported by Tony Watkins and Tony van Raat

We hope that every NZ architectural practice will join us in making this commitment.


Sign here:

Please add the name of your practice
Please add your website URL
Please add your contact email
Please consent for us to store your data
*Required fields


106 Architects AD ARCHITECTURE AHHA Allfrey + South Architects Andesite Architects archifact-architecture & conservation Archimedia architectural ecology Architecture HDT Hawkes Bay Limited Architecture Plus Architectus Architype ashton mitchell ltd Assembly Architects Athfield Architects Ltd Atkinson Harwood Architecture AW Architects Bau Division BDG Architects Ben Hudson Architects Black Pine Architects Borrmeister Architects Limited Bossley Architects Bourke Architects Limited Brewer Davidson Buchan Chaney & Norman Architects Charissa Snijders Architect Cheshire Architects Chow:Hill Christie Architecture Ltd Clendon Architects Limited Coll Architecture Collingridge + Smith Architects (UK) Context Architects Custance Associates Dalgleish Architects Ltd Dave Launder DN2 David Loughlin Architects Design Base Architecture DonJamieson Architecture Drawing Room Eliska Lewis Architects Ltd. First Light Studio Fulton Ross Team Architects G2 Studio Graeme North EcoDesign Graphite Architects Hamish Shaw Architects Hampton Jones Herbst Architects Ltd Hilton Miller Architects Isthmus Group Ltd Jasmax Jerram Tocker Barron Architects Jessop Architects John Bannatyne Architects Johnstone Callaghan Architects Judi Keith-Brown Architects Karl Majurey Architects Limited Kerr Ritchie Ltd Malcolm Walker Architects Ltd Mark Frazerhurst Architects Martin Ulenberg McKenzie Higham Architects Min Hall Architect Mitchell Stout Dodd Architects Moller Architects OZAC Architects Ltd Pacific Environments Ltd Parsonson Architects Patterson Associates Architects Patterson Associates Ltd Peddle Thorp Peddle Thorp Architects (Hamilton) Ltd People Space Architects Ltd. Rafe Maclean Architects Rain Studio Red Gecko Ltd Respond Architects robertson architecture:design RTA Studio S A Studio salmond architecture Salmond Reed Architects Scarlet Architects SGA Ltd Spacecraft Architects Stephenson & Turner Stevens Lawson Architects Studio of Pacific Architecture Team Green Architects Tennent Brown Architects ThoughtForm Architecture VIA Architecture Vorstermans Architects Ltd Walker Architecture & Design Warren and Mahoney Architects Wilkie + Bruce Architects WoodCo Architects Woods Bagot Wyatt + Gray Architects
Site by Lovers